Dr. Carol Morrow Takes the Helm of the CDA

Molly PereiraFeatured News

carol-morrowlrAt the CDA Annual Session in Beaver Creek, Colo., Dr. Carol Morrow was installed as the Colorado Dental Association’s 131st president. Dr. Morrow is the youngest president in the association’s history and only the second female president ever to lead the CDA.

Dr. Morrow graduated from the CU School of Dental Medicine in 2006. She worked in private practice with her father, Dr. Robert Morrow, a former CDA president himself, until his retirement in 2013. She has been active in organized dentistry since dental school, where she served as American Student Dental Association president. Dr. Morrow has been cochair of the CDA New Dentist Committee, president of the Arkansas Valley Dental Society, cochair of the CDA Government Relations and Membership councils, member of the Colorado Dental Political Action Committe, and board member of the Colorado Mission of Mercy. She also recently served as chair of the ADA Reference Committee on Legislative, Governance, Health, and Related Matters and chair of the ADA’s 14th District. She is a fellow of the International College of Dentists, the American College of Dentists, and the Pierre Fauchard Academy. Dr. Morrow is very passionate about access to care and making sure every person in Colorado receives the highest quality of care available.

New to the Executive Committee

During the House of Delegates meeting, delegates elected Dr. Carrie Mauterer to the CDA Executive Committee as second vice president.

Dr. Mauterer graduated from the CU School of Dental Medicine, where she was heavily involved in many leadership positions including class president for two years and president of her school’s American Student Dental Association chapter. Dr. Mauterer is a prominent figure in the Colorado dental community and is an advocate for building a strong healthcare community. She was honored to be awarded fellowships in both the Pierre Fauchard Society and the International College of Dentists. For four years she served the local Metropolitan Denver Dental Society (MDDS) board. While serving as the editor of the Articulator Magazine, she published dozens of editorials and won two awards from the International College of Dentists for her editorial work . She has served the American Dental Association in the positions of alternate delegate and delegate (elected by her peers) for a few years now. She currently chairs the MDDS outreach committee and is a trainer for The Cavity Free at 3 Program. She was awarded MDDS Volunteer of the Year award in 2013 and the MDDS Chair of the Year award in 2017.

Dr. Jana Ikeda also was elected to the CDA Executive Committee as secretary.

Dr. Ikeda earned her Doctor of Dental Surgery degree from Creighton School of Dentistry and a Bachelor of Arts in Biology from the CU – Boulder. She recently completed her Master in Public Health from the University of South Florida. She is actively involved in organized dentistry and the National Practice-Based Research Network. Transplanted from Hawaii, Dr. Ikeda enjoys the Colorado outdoors and biking, hiking, and skiing.

20170611_0856562017-18 Executive Committee

The CDA Executive Committee is comprised of seven officers elected by the House of Delegates and three ex-officio (non-voting) members that include the speaker of the house, editor and executive director.

The officers of the CDA Executive Committee for the 2017-18 term are Dr. Carol Morrow, president; Dr. Michael Varley, immediate past president; Dr. Karen Foster, president-elect; Dr. Jeff Kahl, first vice president; Dr. Carrie Mauterer, second vice president; Dr. Jason Ehtessabian, treasurer; Dr. Jana Ikeda, secretary; Dr. David Lurye, speaker of the house; Dr. Mike Diorio, editor; and Greg Hill, executive director. Learn more about these leaders.