Dr. Gary Field Takes the Reins of the CDA at the Annual Session

Krysia Gabenski Featured News

June 22, 2015

At the 2015 CDA Annual Session in Beaver Creek, Colo., the association installed a new president and welcomed new members to its Board of Trustees and Executive Committee.

Dr. Gary Field was installed as the 129th president of the CDA. He is a past president of the Colorado Springs Dental Society and a past chair of the CDA Membership Council, Peer Review Council and Government Relations Council. He is also a member of the Pierre Fauchard Academy and Pikes Peak Dental Study Club. Dr. Field is a Colorado Mission of Mercy board member and KIND clinic volunteer.

New to the committee is Dr. Jeff Kahl, who was elected secretary during the 2015 House of Delegates meeting at the Annual Session.  Dr. Kahl is a past president of the Colorado Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and is the co-chair of the CDA Government Relations Council. He serves as an examiner for the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry and as a consultant on several state health coalitions. As the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Public Policy Advocate for Colorado, he frequently lobbies on behalf of Colorado children at the state Capitol as well as in Washington, D.C.

The CDA Executive Committee is comprised of seven officers elected by the House of Delegates and three ex-officio (non-voting) members that include the speaker of the house, editor and executive director.
Rounding out the Executive Committee for the 2015-2016 term are Dr. Brett Kessler, immediate past president; Dr. Michael Varley, president-elect; Dr. Carol Morrow, first vice president; Dr. Karen Foster, second vice president and treasurer; Dr. David Lurye, speaker of the house; Dr. Mike Diorio, editor; and Greg Hill, executive director. To learn more about these leaders, click here.

The CDA Board of Trustees also welcomed new members during the House of Delegates meeting. The board is comprised of one trustee from each of the 12 component societies in Colorado plus the elected and ex-officio members of the Executive Committee. One New Dentist Committee member and one student from the CU School of Dental Medicine also serve as board members. Currently serving on the Board of Trustees are Dr. Charles Kelley, Arkansas Valley Dental Society; Dr. David Jackson, Boulder/Broomfield County Dental Society; Dr. Arnold Cullum, Colorado Springs Dental Society; Dr. Stephenie Kaufmann, Intermountain Dental Society; Dr. Nicholas Shumaker, Larimer County Dental Society; Dr. David Klekamp, Metro Denver Dental Society; Dr. Cameron Birch, Northeastern Colorado Dental Society; Dr. R.J. Schultz, Southeastern Colorado Dental Society; Dr. Mark Blue, San Juan Basin Dental Society; Dr. Aimee Martinez, San Louis Valley Dental Society; Dr. Shawn Murray, Weld County Dental Society; Dr. Sheena Schoch, Western Colorado Dental Society; Dr. Lindsay Compton, New Dentist Committee; and Kyle Larsen, CU School of Dental Medicine. To learn more about these trustees, click here.