How Will the New CE Requirement Affect You?

Krysia Gabenski Featured News

March 16, 2015

When it comes to continuing education (CE) credit, the CDA has remained ahead of the curve in ensuring the highest standards for its members. All CDA member dentists, to keep their memberships in good standing, must complete at least 15 hours of CE each year. But now it’s also a requirement by law for all Colorado dentists and dental hygienists.

With the passing of the 2014 Sunset Review Bill, Colorado dentists and dental hygienists must complete at least 30 hours of CE per licensure cycle to renew, reactivate or reinstate their licenses. Dentists must take 30 hours of CE between March 2016 and February 2018 and report compliance when renewing their licenses in 2018.

Check out the spring/April 2015 issue of the Journal of the Colorado Dental Association for an in-depth look at how this new requirement affects you and members of your dental team.