CDA Leadership

Note: CDA members may be able to access expanded information by logging in.

The CDA has many valued leaders who work to ensure the success of the organization. We extend our sincere thanks to all who contribute their time, energy and resources to further the dental profession and oral health in Colorado.

The CDA Executive Committee is comprised of four officers elected by the House of Delegates and three ex-officio (non-voting) members that include the Speaker of the House, Editor and Executive Director.

Dr. Karen Foster graduated from Texas Tech University in 1997. She received her Doctor of Dental Surgery from Baylor College of Dentistry in 2002, then completed residency in pediatric dentistry at the University of Texas-Houston Dental Branch in 2004. Dr. Foster moved to Grand Junction in 2004, where she practiced as an associate in a private practice and at Marillac Clinic. In 2008, she opened Saddle Rock Pediatric Dentistry in Aurora. Dr. Foster is a Diplomate of the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry and a fellow of the Pierre Fauchard Academy and both the American and International College of Dentists. Chosen multiple times by peers as a 5280 Top Dentist, she has attended annual American Dental Association meetings as a delegate since 2005. She is a clinical associate professor at the University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine in the Special Care Clinic. In 2013, the CDA recognized her with its Exceptional Leadership Award. Dr. Foster served on the Metro Denver Dental Society (MDDS) Board of Directors and was awarded with the MDDS Volunteer of the Year award in 2012. She previously chaired the Colorado Dental Political Action Committee, advocating for improvements benefiting patients and the profession.

Dr. Jeffrey Kahl earned a bachelor’s degree at Colorado State University and his Doctor in Dental Surgery degree at the University of Colorado. He then completed a general practice residency at National Naval Medical Center in Bethesda, Md., and served two years at China Lake Naval Weapons Station in California. After separating from the Navy, he completed a two-year residency in pediatric dentistry at The Children’s Hospital in Denver, where he is still an adjunct faculty member. Dr. Kahl is a past president of the Colorado Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and is cochair of the CDA Membership Council. He serves as an examiner for the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry and as a consultant on several state health coalitions. As the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry public policy advocate for Colorado, Dr. Kahl frequently lobbies on behalf of Colorado children at the state Capital and in Washington, D.C.

Vice President
Dr. Carrie Mauterer
graduated from the University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine, where she was heavily involved in many leadership positions including class president for two years and president of her school’s American Student Dental Association chapter. Dr. Mauterer is a prominent figure in the Colorado dental community and is an advocate for building a strong healthcare community. She was honored to be awarded fellowships in both the Pierre Fauchard Society and the International College of Dentists. For four years she served the local Metropolitan Denver Dental Society (MDDS) board. While serving as the editor of the Articulator Magazine, she published dozens of editorials and won two awards from the International College of Dentists for her editorial work . She has served the American Dental Association in the positions of alternate delegate and delegate (elected by her peers) for a few years now. She currently chairs the MDDS outreach committee and is a trainer for The Cavity Free at 3 Program. She was awarded MDDS Volunteer of the Year award in 2013 and the MDDS Chair of the Year award in 2017.

Dr. Lindsay Compton 

Speaker of the House
Dr. David Jackson 

Dr. Michael K. Diorio graduated from the University of Colorado School of Dentistry in 1985. He served three years in the U.S. Navy Dental Corps as a dentist stationed at Marine Corps Recruit Depot in San Diego. Upon his return to Colorado in 1989, he established a private practice in the Denver area. Dr. Diorio has been active in organized dentistry at both the state and local levels. He served as the Metro Denver Dental Society editor for nine years and won the International College of Dentists 2016 Journalism Award in the Leadership and William J. Gies Award for the most outstanding dental editorial in 2000. Dr. Diorio has been on the consulting dental staff at Craig Hospital since 1995, providing dental care for those with traumatic spinal cord and brain injuries. He is also active in the anti-tobacco community and often presents the CDA’s “Quit the Spit” program to students.


The CDA Board of Trustees is comprised of one trustee from each of the 11 component societies in Colorado plus the elected and ex-officio members of the Executive Committee. One New Dentist Committee member and one student from the University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine also serve as board members. Currently serving on the Board of Trustees are:

Dr. Karen Foster, President Aurora
Dr. Jeff Kahl, President-Elect Colorado Springs
Dr. Carrie Mauterer, Vice President Thornton
Dr. Lindsay Compton, Treasurer Arvada
Dr. David Jackson, Speaker of the House Boulder
Dr. Mike Diorio, Editor Englewood
Dr. Jacob Mackey, AVDS Lamar
Dr. Jonathan Boynton, BBCDS Boulder
Dr. Gary Field, CSDS Colorado Springs
Dr. Zach Alleman, LCDS Fort Collins
Dr. Jeffrey Lodl, MDDS Arvada
Dr. Jeane Schoemaker, NECDS  Fort Morgan
Dr. Robert Provorse, RGDS Salida
Dr. Steve Reck, SECDS  Pueblo
Dr. Mark Blue, SJBDS Durango
Dr. Nate Kunzman, WELD Greeley
Dr. Sheena Schoch, WCDS Hayden
Dr. Shaheen Moezzi, NDC Greenwood Village
Austin Tyler, CU School of Dental Medicine  Aurora
The CDA has five standing councils, which provide leadership in strategic areas. Task forces and committees also are established as needed to address emerging issues.

CDA Councils

The CDA has five standing councils, which provide leadership in strategic areas. Task forces and committees also are established as needed to address emerging issues.

CDA Councils

  • Ethics
  • Finance
  • Government Relations
  • Membership
  • Peer Review

Current Task Forces and Standing Committees

  • Colorado Dental Political Action Committee (CODPAC)

To volunteer to serve on a council or committee, please email or call 303-740-6900.

The CDA staff ensure day-to-day operations run smoothly and provide members service and support.

Greg Hill, J.D., Executive Director
Molly Pereira, Associate Executive Director, Operations/Communications
Pam Brockhaus, Associate Executive Director, Finance
Erica Carvin, Director of Membership
Jennifer Goodrum, Director of Governmental Relations
Krysia Gabenski, Strategic Communication Specialist
Mike Masamori, Accounting and Facilities Manager
Geri Mustain, Office Manager