Member Login

Mandatory CE for Dentists and Dental Hygienists in Colorado

From the Spring 2015 Journal of the Colorado Dental Association

During last year’s 2014 state legislative session, the Colorado Dental Practice Act was reviewed and updated pursuant to HB 14-1227, the dental sunset review bill. Substantial changes were made to the Dental Practice Act that will impact dental practices in the months and years to come. One of the key changes in this bill was the addition of a new requirement that dentists complete 30 hours of continuing education (CE) per two-year license renewal cycle. The bill also required that dentists holding an anesthesia permit complete 17 hours of CE specific to anesthesia or sedation administration during the five-year anesthesia permit renewal cycle.

Read more...

Breckenridge Upholds Fluoridation

March 16, 2015

Last week, the town of Breckenridge, under the leadership of mayor and town dentist Dr. John Warner, made the decision to continue fluoridating water to benefit oral health. Despite nearly three decades of water fluoridation, the topic has been a longstanding debate between the health community and anti-fluoride activists in the ski town. Thanks to the efforts and support of the Summit Community Care Clinic and local health department, a majority of town council members were in favor of maintaining community water fluoridation in the town of Breckenridge.

Read more...

Know Your Rights When It Comes to Insurance Payments

March 16, 2015

Many insurance companies have begun paying claims with virtual credit cards. But practitioners end up paying more than they would via an electronic funds transfer (EFT) or a paper check. When insurance companies use virtual credit cards, the practitioner is required to write off a portion of the amount charged to the insurer for the services rendered and also is charged a transaction fee to run the card to receive reimbursement for the claim. It also can be more time-consuming for the staff member in charge of processing the transaction. 

Read more...

X-Ray Fees to Increase in April

March 16, 2015

By April 2015, dental practices that renew x-ray certification labels will see a $10 increase on label fees. Most dental offices renew certification labels once every three years. You will see this $10 increase the next time your labels are renewed. There is no change in the renewal schedule. In early April, the state will also send out invoices for a new annual $50 radiation machine facility registration fee. Dentists will be required to pay this fee and update facility information every year.

Read more...

CDA Fights Dentist Rating Systems Based Solely on Fees

March 16, 2015

Last summer, one of the state’s dental insurance plans implemented a new provider rating system—a three-star “designation” system based solely on treatment fees. Under this rating system, dentists with higher fees for services would get lower ratings, and dentists with lower fees would get higher ratings. During the 2015 legislative session, the CDA is running a bill that would disallow this practice in the future. Far more than simply the cost of care should be included in the design of a provider rating system for the public. 

Read more...



Please enter your ADA number and Password.
NOTE your password is now case sensitive.