The CDA Recognizes Exceptional Leaders at the Annual Session

Krysia GabenskiFeatured News

June 22, 2015

Many of the CDA’s members take on leadership roles that allow them to have a positive impact on the association and the field of dentistry as a whole. During the House of Delegates meeting at the 2015 Annual Session in Beaver Creek, Colo., the CDA recognized some of those leaders.

Dr. David Jackson, from the Boulder/Broomfield County Dental Society, received the Exceptional Leadership Award for his part in recruiting new members through the Member Get a Member campaign, run by the CDA and the ADA. The campaign challenged CDA members to engage nonmembers in organized dentistry and teach them about the benefits of being a member. Dr. Jackson’s efforts resulted in a 5% increase in members for his component.

Dr. Michael Scheidt, from the Metro Denver Dental Society (MDDS), received the CDA Exceptional Trustee Award. Dr. Scheidt is a CDA life member and has committed 39 years to organized dentistry. He has held many leadership positions in MDDS and on the CDA’s Board of Trustees representing MDDS. Because of his in-depth knowledge of the two organizations, Dr. Scheidt has served as a bridge between the component and the state association, offering his extensive knowledge to both groups to help them make the best decisions to move forward.

Dr. Carol Morrow, from the Arkansas Valley Dental Society, received the CDA Ambassador Award for her numerous contributions to the CDA and oral health. Of note is her unwavering passion to solve the access-to-dental-care issue in Colorado. She chairs the CDA’s Workforce Task Force, which is committed to finding solutions to better use the current dental professionals to serve in Colorado’s so-called “dental desserts.” During Colorado’s 2015 legislative session, she was a lead advocate for an Interim Therapeutic Restoration bill that will have a real impact on the access-to-care issue.

Dr. Malcolm “Skip” Boone, from MDDS, received the CDA Exceptional Service award for his longtime service as the chair of the CDA’s Peer Review program. When conflicts arise in doctor-patient relationships, Peer Review helps to rectify the problem without the involvement of the Colorado Dental Board or the legal system. Each component is represented on the Peer Review Council, and Dr. Boone oversees each case the council accepts for mediation or arbitration.

Dr. Nick Chiovitti, from MDDS, received the CDA’s Colorado Mission of Mercy (COMOM) Award. In 2014, Dr. Chiovitti served as COMOM site chair, helping to transform the Prairie View High School into a 125-chair dental clinic. Under his guidance, 1,323 patients received roughly 7,000 dental procedures amounting to over $1.2 million in donated treatment on Oct. 3-4, 2014. Dr. Chiovitti has volunteered with COMOM since its inception in 2007.

The CDA also presented the New Dentist Committee Chair Awards to Dr. Eric Rossow, from MDDS; Dr. Nicole Eberle, from MDDS; Dr. Tiffany Manzo, from MDDS, Dr. Ben Ricketts, from MDDS; Dr. Dawn Wehking, from Boulder/Broomfield County Dental Society; and Dr. Carol Morrow, from Arkansas Valley Dental Society.