Member Spotlight030811

Molly PereiraFeatured News

March 8, 2011

Dr. Terry Brewick named Pierre Fauchard Academy meeting chairman.
Dr. Matthew Dunn awarded with the PFA Journalism Award for distinguished service.

TerryBrewickThe Executive Board of the Pierre Fauchard Academy (PFA) recently named Dr. Terry Brewick the first ever PFA meeting chairman for the academy’s annual meeting, held in conjunction with the ADA Annual Session this fall in Las Vegas, Nev.  He has served as the Colorado Section chair of PFA for the past six years.  In his additional role, he will work closely with Judith Kozal, PFA executive director, to plan the national meeting at the Four Season’s Hotel in October.  It will be the 75th Anniversary of the academy, which will be recognized during the ADA Opening Session on Oct. 10, 2011.  Dr. Brewick was the 2003 General Arrangement Chair for the Rocky Mountain Dental Convention and received the Outstanding Chairman Award from MDDS for his service.
On Jan. 13, 2011, 64 fellows attended the annual joint breakfast meeting of the American College of Dentists (ACD), the International College of Dentists (ICD), and the Pierre Fauchard Academy (PFA).  At the breakfast Dr. Terry Brewick, Colorado section chair of the Pierre Fauchard Academy, presented a special Journalism Award to Dr. Matthew Dunn for his distinguished service as editor of the Articulator, the newsletter of the Metropolitan Denver Dental Society.  During his time as Articulator editor, his tribute to the late Dr. Larry Meskin was prominently reprinted in the ADA News. Dr. Dunn was the youngest contributor to serve on the Journal of the American Dental Association Editorial Advisory Board.

MattDunnPhoto caption: Janet Steward (left), pro bono consultant for the Colorado PFA Chapter, Dr. Terry Brewick, Colorado section chair of PFA, Dr. Matthew Dunn, Dr. Douglas Berkey, editor of Dental Abstracts, and Dr. Bonnie Ferrell, immediate past section chair of the Colorado PFA.